Italian football | Serie A

Home » Betting on sports » Italian football | Serie A


How did the Serie A competition come about?

The formula with one national main competition, which was given the full name Lega Calcio Serie A TIM, but is called Serie A within the football world for the sake of convenience, has been in existence since the 1929-1930 season. Before that, more precisely from 1898, the title of best Italian team was contested through a number of other tournaments. In 1904 the competition was still called the Prima Categoria, whereby the participating teams could qualify regionally for the final rounds.

In 1922 the first Coppa Italiana was founded, the cup competition in which the clubs could qualify for the final through various regional competitions. Since 1988 there is also a Supercoppa, in which battle is fought between the national champion and the cup winner.

Since 1968, there has also been a Serie A in women’s football, in which the first two teams qualify for the Champions League. There is also a cup competition here.

The best teams in this league

Based on the total number of league titles since the inception of Serie A in 1929 up to and including the 2019-2020 season, Juventus outperforms all other clubs with no less than 34 victories. Inter Milan (with 16 victories) and AC Milan (with 15 victories) follow in an almost joint second place.

In the five final standings from 2015-2016 to 2019-2020, Juventus continued to dominate the competition and the two Milanese teams continued to perform well, but Napoli and AS Roma increasingly came to the fore. The clubs Atalanta and Lazio are also performing well.

Every winner of the Serie A can play the upcoming football season wearing shirts with a shield with the Italian flag on it. In addition, the clubs that have won 10 championships each time add a star to their logo. That is why there is a star on the logo of AC Milan and Inter Milan and Juventus was allowed to add no less than three stars to its logo.

Juventus FC

Juventus FC

Juventus FC (Juventus Turin) can call itself the most successful club of all time in the Serie A. It has already collected 36 national titles since 1998 and was continuously Italian champion from 2012 to 2020. Moreover, it has already won the cup competition 13 times. Juventus is also the record holder in the Italian Supercoppa with 9 victories in 2020.

In Europe it won the European Cup I/Champions League twice, in which it was also a losing finalist 7 times.

It has also won the European Cup II/Europa League 3 times.

FC Internazionale Milano

Inter Milan (FC Internazionale Milano)

Inter Milan was founded in 1908 and for a long time belonged to the European and world top, especially in the 1960s.

  • 19x National Champion in Serie A
  • Is the only team that has never been relegated in this competition since the inception of Serie A.
  • 8x cup winner
  • 5x Supercoppa
  • 3x European Cup I/Champions League (last in 2010)
  • 3x European Cup II/Champions League (last in 1998)

Società Sportiva Calcio Napoli

SSC Napoli (Società Sportiva Calcio Napoli)

  • 2x National Champion (with Diego Maradona)
  • 6x cup winner (including in 2020)
  • 2x Supercoppa
  • In Europe it won 1x the European Cup II/Europa League (with the recently deceased superstar Diego Maradona in the ranks)
  • In 2004 the club was declared bankrupt. A financially healthy new club restarted in Serie C1. In 2007 the club returned to Serie A.

AS Roma

AS Roma

  • 3x National Champion in Serie A.
  • 9x cup winner
  • 2x Supercoppa

Associazione Calcio Milan

AC Milan

  • 19x National Champion in Serie A
  • 5x cup winner
  • 7x winner Supercoppa
  • 7x winner of the European Cup I/Champions League
  • 2x European Cup II/Europa League

What is the competition like?

In the Italian Serie A, 20 clubs compete against each other. Whoever has the highest number of match points after 40 matches is the champion. The 3 lowest ranked teams will be relegated to Serie B. These three teams will be replaced by the first two and the winner of the Serie B play-offs.

The numbers 1 to 4 of the final standings in Serie A qualify directly for the Champions League and the numbers 5 and 6 for the Europa League.

Italian cup competitions

There is also an Italian Cup competition, which is not limited to Serie A teams. The cup winner is directly qualified for the Europa League.

In addition, there has been a Super Cup (Supercoppa) since 1988. It takes place annually shortly before the start of a new Serie A competition. In this match, the national champion of the previous football season competes against the winner or loser of the cup final.

In the media we find the final ranking of the Serie A, whether or not fully detailed, with the total number of game points, the number of games played, the number of won, undecided and lost games, the number of goals and goals conceded after the name of the club, and the goal difference.

Extra information

– In 2005-2006 Juventus, Lazio, Fiorentina, Reggina Calcio and AC Milan were sanctioned for their involvement in a bribery scandal. Juventus was hit the hardest. The club lost its two league titles and was also relegated to Serie B. The uninvolved Inter Milan were subsequently declared champions, even though they finished in third place.

– In the 1943-1944 and 1944-1945 seasons, the national competition was canceled because of the Second World War, but a regional competition was organized.

– In 1948-1949, the championship title was awarded to Torino FC after a plane crash just before the end of the competition, which killed the entire Torino team.

– All-time top scorer in Serie A is Silvio Piola, with 274 goals.

– The fastest ever goal in Serie A was scored in 2020 by Rafael Leão (AC Milan). After only 6.2 seconds, this top player was able to score.

– The highest scoring Napoli player since 2020 has been Belgian Dries Mertens.


Place2bet wishes you good luck!

Gamble in moderation. Enjoy the game.

Place2bet Belgium